Friday, 3 June 2011

Olympic Badminton - International Badminton Federation

The International Badminton Federation (IBF) was established in 1934 by founding nine member nations (England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Denmark, Holland, Canada, New Zealand and France, with India joining as an affiliate in 1936. Today, the IBF has more than 165 members worldwide. Previously its head office was located in  Cheltenham, UK now relocated to Kuala Lumpur. Its current president is Kang Young Joong. Badminton became an Olympic sport in 1992 at the Barcelona Games, where Indonesia dominated the event, winning gold medals. On September 24, 2006, at the Extraordinary General Meeting in Madrid, it was decided to adopt the new name Badminton World Federation (BWF).

Badminton evolved as Olympic sport in 1992. London 2012 Olympic will see Badminton being contested in Wembley Arena from Saturday 28 July to Sunday 5 August. Badminton fans can get
Olympic Badminton Tickets from Sport Ticket Exchange.

No comments:

Post a Comment